top of page
Search

The Beauty of Blended Learning

As a 4th grade teacher who teaches ALL 4th graders on my campus, approximately 70 students, I have seen students all across the spectrum. I have recent immigrants that know little to no English, students who have huge gaps in their learning especially after Covid, students who are unmotivated and with behavior issues, students who are bored because they are far more advanced than the material taught, and so much more.


How on earth can I reach them all at their level in a personalized way?

After reading Blended, Using Disruptive Innovation to Improve Schools, by Michael B. Horn and Heather Staker, I believe I have found a way, BLENDED LEARNING! By using Blended Learning techniques, such as flipped classroom, rotation station model, and a la carte, etc, I will be able to provide personalized and individualized learning for all my students. One of the many benefits of this model is that students will not only be learning at their level but they will also have control over the pace and path of their learning. This will help close gaps, keep students engaged, and extend the learning of GT or advanced learners.

Through the ADL program at Lamar University, I will continue to learn about and research best practices of Blended Learning so that I may propose this idea to my administration. I will be asking for the flexibility and opportunity to pilot this innovation in my classroom.




4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page