top of page
Search

Taking Risks


Just like we ask students to welcome a growth mindset and taking risks, we too must walk the walk. As teachers, we need to embrace the notion of being a life-long learner and a risk-taker. By adopting a growth mindset and tackling the ideas of learning new things and taking risks, we will be constantly growing as teachers/learners. As mentioned in the video, Innovation That Sticks Case Study-OCSB: Risk-Taking, we need to learn to be comfortable with being uncomfortable. I have always told my students that it is ok to be nervous, scared, and even a bit uncomfortable as long as we can keep trying and don't give up, yet we as adults usually shy away from those things. I know I have. It used to give me great anxiety when lessons didn't go as planned. I always worried that admin would walk in at the very second that the lesson imploded, but now, SLOWLY but surely, I am learning to embrace being uncomfortable, because it is through risks and mistakes that we learn. I now also see this as a way to model growth mindset. This shows students that even us teachers make mistakes and learn and grow from them. We also now embrace being co-learners in the classroom, I learn from them daily as they learn from me daily. Not only is a growth mindset and the concepts of life-long learning and taking risks helping me as a teacher currently, but they will also help me implement my innovation project; Blended Learning: Personalizing the Future of Education.

References EdCan Network. (2016, May 19). Innovation that sticks case study - OCSB: Risk-taking. YouTube. Retrieved April 18, 2022, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAMcjUzdVnE

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page