top of page
Search

The Impact of a Growth Mindset


I have always known about the impact our mindset has on us, but after watching Carol Dweck and Sal Kahn's discussion on the The Growth Mindset Video, my eyes have been further opened to how much the mindset truly impacts our learning. I have seen this first hand as an educator and parent. In my 9 years of teaching, I have seen GT students who are on the verge of giving up because of their fixed mindset. On the other hand, I have seen students who struggle, but shake it off and say, "I am not there, yet" and keep trying.

Mindset is everything.


This is why I spend many weeks in the beginning of the year teaching my students about Fixed Mindset vs Growth Mindset. I show them Class Dojo Videos, we have discussions, and constantly remind each other that in our class "It is all about the growth!"

When it comes to me do I consider myself primarily on a growth mindset or a fixed mindset?

Although I understand the importance of a Growth Mindset as an educator and as a parent, when it came to me being a learner again, I caught myself having a very fixed mindset. I would tend to forget about the power of "YET" and about the process of learning and growing and was solely focused on what I could not do. I grew anxious and worried. Now, as time is passing and I am learning more through my readings and videos about Growth Mindset, I am connecting it to my life, not just as an educator and a mom, but as a student and learner. I am now constantly reminding myself that learning is a journey and that it is ok not to know something, yet. Going forward, I will continue to continue to engage in readings, videos, and discussions about the impact our mindset has on our learning, so that I may continue to grow.


If you want to learn more about my Growth Mindset Plan, please CLICK HERE.


Resources:

Dweck, C. S. (2006). Mindset: The new psychology of success. New York: Random House.

Kahn Academy. (2014, August 19). The Growth Mindset [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wh0OS4MrN3E&feature=youtu.be

3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page